Sports Awards 2024

We were delighted to welcome Uachtarán CLG, Jarlath Burns to our Sports Awards ceremony this year.

The Armagh native is no stranger to the school set-up, having stepped away for the duration of his presidency, from being Principal of the 1800 pupil strong, St Paul’s Bessbrook. He tapped into that experience by telling the audience of how far from being a model student, he had similar struggles with homework & study before realizing at 15 that he had to make a few changes which involved committing to a life without alcohol, becoming fluent at the Irish language & achieving decent grades. He also shared some thoughts on how the listening teenagers could prepare for their years ahead both on and off the sports field.

Sean Kearney (Kildare Gliders); Ollie Delaney (Newbridge RFC) &  John O’Brien (EMS Copiers – sponsors of awards) were also present.

Special mention must go to the winners of the four main awards:
Senior Sportsman of the Year: Eoghan Dunne
Sports Leadership Award: Sean Smyth
Jamie Donohoe Perpetual Memorial Cup: James Crawford
Junior Sportsman of the Year: Daniel Cummins